

# Minutes of the Positive Life NSW 2023 Annual General Meeting Held on Wednesday 06 December 2023

Present: Robert Agati - President (RA), Stephen Lunny - Vice President (SL), Sebastian Zagarella - Secretary (SZ), Jane Costello (JC), Gregory Horn (GH), Melissa Carolus (MC), Andrew Heslop (AH), Natasha Io (NI), Frances Parker (FP), Gareth Graham (GG), Antonio Sneddon (AS), Matthew Sneddon (MS), Gary Wright (GW), Adrian Zhang (AZ), Ashley Jargalsaikhan (AJ), Ben HanQing Li (BL), Billy Suyapmo (BS), Bruce Straw (BS), Catherine Beck (CB), Chhay Meng (CM), Craig Andrews (CA), Colin Hoskins (CH), Dan Forrester (DF), David Parkin (DP), David Solomon (DS), David Wright (DW), Dora Novimelia (DN), Gary Dawson (GD), Haris Kalenderian (HK), Ivano Laureti (IL), James Zagarella (JZ), John Kynaston (JK), John Robinson (JR), Justin Xiao (JX), Leslie Macedo (LM), Manuel Viegas (MV), Mark Bennett (MB), Marc Bergemann (MB), Memory Nasiyaya (MN), Phil Quirk (PQ), Philippe Smets (PS), Pindi Hurring-Stevens (PH), Priscilla Njeri (PN), Robert Han (RH), Simon Wilson (SW), Spiro Haginikitas (SH), Stuart Fish (SF)

Apologies: Anthony Black (AB), Aaron McDonnell (AM), Paul Caleo (PC), Philip Saggers (PS), Edvald Rama (ER), Neil Fraser (NF), Michelle Tobin (MT).

RA opened the meeting at 6pm.

#### 1. RA **Welcome and Acknowledgement of Country**

RA acknowledged awareness of and respect for the Traditional Custodians of the land and their continuing relationship with the land.

#### RA Members and visitors welcomed

RA welcomed members and visitors and noted apologies.

**Motion 1:** RA asked the motion that the apologies be accepted and approved.

Moved: Robert Agati (RA) Seconded: Jane Costello (JC)

#### 2. RA **Confirmation of previous minutes**

Motion 2: RA asked the motion that minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Robert Agati (RA) Seconded: Greg Horn (GH)

#### 3. RA/JC Presentation of 2022/2023 Annual Report (copies available at the meeting and online)

RA presented his President's Report JC presented her CEO Report

Motion 3: That the Annual Report 2021/2022 for the financial year ended 30 June 2022 be accepted.

living with HIV

Moved: Robert Agati (RA) Seconded: John Robinson (JR)
The voice of all people PO Box 831 Darlinghurst NSW 1300

02 9206 2177 or 1800 245 677 (freecall) | ABN 42 907 908 942

www.positivelifensw.org.au



# 4. SL Treasurer's Report

Robert Agati read the Treasurer's Report on behalf of Neil Fraser (NF) from the 2022/2023 Annual Report, and referred people to the 2022/23 Audited Financial Report, available at the meeting and online.

#### **Motion 4:** SL asked the motion that

- (i) the Audited Financial Statement for the financial year ending 30 June 2023 reflect a true and fair representation of Positive Life NSW's financial matters and are not misleading:
- (ii) there are reasonable grounds to believe that Positive Life NSW is able to pay its debts as and when they fall due; and
- (iii) the Board be authorised to submit the Annual Financial Report to the Australian Charities and Not-for-Profits Commission (ACNC).

Moved: Stephen Lunny (SL) Seconded: Phillippe Smets (PS)

### 5. RA Appointment of Auditors and Audit Motion

**Motion 5:** To retain the services of ESV Chartered Accountants for the financial year ending 30 June 2024

Moved: Stephen Lunny (SL) Seconded: Antonio Sneddon (AS)

6. RA Reading of Returning Officer Declaration for Election of Board Directors RA spoke to the election of Ordinary Board Directors for the Positive Life Board. The Board has appointed Danielle Munro, Solicitor of the HIV/AIDS Legal Centre (HALC) to act as Returning Officer and to scrutinise the election process.

Of the 6 vacant positions for the Positive Life Board, there were 8 candidate nominations for these positions. RA then read the letter received from the Returning Officer, dated 05 December 2023 who has provided Positive Life NSW with a letter of declaration for the election results. As she is unable to attend this meeting tonight, RA read this letter out in full. Chompol Chaimongkol, Gareth Graham, Gregory Horn, Stephen Lunny, Frances Parker and Sebastian Zagarella are duly elected as Ordinary Board Directors.

RA thanked Danielle Munro for acting in the capacity of Returning Officer.

**Motion 6:** That the letter of declaration from the Returning Officer be adopted and approved.

Moved: Robert Agati (RA) Seconded: Natasha lo (NI)

### 7. RA Other Business

RA noted that questions relating to items of business can be asked. Any questions taken on notice must be submitted to the CEO in writing following the AGM, who will address those questions.

### 8. RA Acknowledgements and Close of Meeting

#### **Welcome new Board Members**

RA welcomed the newly elected Ordinary Board Directors, Chompol Chaimongkol, Gareth Graham, Gregory Horn, Stephen Lunny, Frances Parker and Sebastian



Zagarella, and look forward to working with the existing Board comprising Robert Agati, Melissa Carolus, and Natasha Io, with Jane Costello as ex-officio.

RA extended his commiserations to those who had nominated but were not elected, with encouragement to remain connected and reapply next year.

# Acknowledge and thank Returning Officer

RA acknowledged and thanked Danielle Munro for all her work as Returning Officer.

## Acknowledgement of PLHIV who passed away 2022-2023

John Angus
John Moy
Paul James
Trevor W Haines
Shane Hurley
Ian Gordon
Mark Brennan
Aaron Sutherland

RA noted that the Christmas party was due to start at 7pm, in the adjacent space.

# 9. RA Close of Meeting

Meeting closed at 5:42pm.